The Live Classroom Pre-licensing course follows the course outline of the South Carolina Department of Insurance. It provides the student with the information needed to pass the South Carolina State Examination to become licensed to sell Property, Casualty, Surety, and Marine Policies. This includes policies for Automobiles, Homes, Boats, and Commercial Packages to name a few. The topics covered by this traditional classroom course include over 11 major topics and 58 subtopics. Topics such as Insurance Regulation, General Insurance, Property Insurance Basics, Dwelling Policies, Homeowners Policies, Personal and Commercial Auto Policies, Commercial Package Policies, and Workers Compensation Policies are examples of the topics addressed. Each course includes a professional instructor approved by the South Carolina Department of Insurance. The cost of this class includes your Brewer Insurance Information Service Property, Casualty, Surety, and Marine Study Manual and an on-line practice testing tool. For other information regarding licensing and test registration please look at the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) page of our Web Site.
The following questions are those we are asked most often. We want to update it as necessary to assist you by answering any question you may have regarding our school or the licensing processing, so please email us at info@BrewerInsuranceSchool.com or call us if you do not find the answer to your question.
What do I need to do to get an insurance license?
There are three steps required to acquire an insurance license. You must pass the SC Department of Insurance state exam, acquire a criminal background check by getting fingerprinted (Producer/Agents) or a SLED Background Check (Adjusters), and apply for an insurance license at NIPR.com. If you want to attend a class to prepare you to pass the exam we offer a variety of courses to assist you.
How much are the classes with your school?
The cost of the four day Property and Casualty and Life, Accident and Health classes is $360.00(plus applicable tax and shipping) and includes your text book, an Exam Tutor On-line practice testing tool and the On-Line Classroom Practice Testing tool. The four day Adjuster Class is also $360.00 (plus applicable tax and shipping) and includes your textbook, an Exam Tutor On-line practice testing tool and the Classroom On-line Practice Testing Tool. The Self-Study On-line and the Self-study Textbook do not include the Classroom On-line practice testing tool.
Do I need to get a criminal background check and get fingerprinted to get an insurance producer/ agent license in South Carolina?
Yes, Effective January 1, 2017, South Carolina law requires all resident producers or licensees holding a resident producer’s license to submit fingerprints and background checks upon application for a new license. Fingerprints will be submitted directly to the Department by the vendor generally within 24 hours after the licensee has been fingerprinted. Failure to submit fingerprints with the application or failure to comply with the fingerprinting requirement is a violation of the South Carolina insurance laws. Click here to schedule an appointment. Fingerprinting is a one-time requirement at this time AND everyone has to be fingerprinted even if they have already been fingerprinted for CWP or any other reason.
Do I need to get a criminal background check to get a Claims Adjuster license in South Carolina?
Yes, you are required to get a South Carolina State Law Enforcement Division (S.L.E.D.) criminal background check when applying for a Claims Adjuster license. Fingerprints are NOT required for a Claims Adjuster License.
Are there any other costs?
Yes, there is an examination fee ($45.00) payable to PSI for each test taken, Criminal Background Check fee payable to Identogo ($50.50) for Producers and SLED ($25.00) for Adjusters, and an Application Fee ($30.00 for Producer/$80 for Adjuster) payable to NIPR.com.
If I pay for an associate, and they do not attend, do I get a refund?
We will refund the payment or transfer the payment to another student from your organization if the student does not attend the class. If the student begins class and drops out or withdraws, the payment is non-refundable.
When is payment due?
NOTE: COVID-19 has caused us to limit the number of students in a classroom, so payment is required up front for all class types at this time. If you are purchasing a Live Webinar, Self-Study On-Line or Self-study Textbook or a Continuing Education class the payment is due at the time of registration and purchase. If you are taking a Pre-Licensing Live Classroom class payment is due on the first day of class, but may be paid in advance with credit card or a debit card.
What forms of payment do you accept?
We accept MasterCard, American Express, Visa, (Debit and Credit cards), Cash, Company Checks, Bank Certified Checks, Money Orders or prearranged billing (businesses only). We do not accept Personal Checks.
Do you offer discounts?
Discounts are offered periodically and when available you can apply the discount during checkout.
Do you offer Internet Courses?
Yes, we do have Internet Course Offerings. These courses are self-study and self-paced with no instructor. We offer Internet courses for Property and Casualty, Surety and Marine Producer; Life, Accident and Health Producer; Property, Casualty, Surety and Marine Adjuster; and Surplus Lines Broker courses. [Click Here](http://www.prelicense.com/brewerinsuranceschool) to purchase one of those options.
Are there any alternatives to taking the four day class?
We offer Self-study Textbook and Self-study On-line programs for Property, Casualty, Surety and Marine producer; Life, Accident and Health producer; Property, Casualty, Surety and Marine Adjuster and Surplus Lines Brokers. These programs use the same information, and content required by the SC Department of Insurance as published in the SC Department of Insurance Licensing Information Bulletin. You will also have access to an Exam Tutor On-line practice testing tool. this is the same tool we use in the 4-day producer or 4-day adjuster class. The student is responsible for teaching themselves the material. When the student passes the Simulated State Exam in the Exam Tutor provided in the package with a minimum grade of 70% the student should feel comfortable that they are ready to take the actual SC State Insurance Exam administered by PSI.
What is the Unique Conversion Option?
If you have purchased our Self-study Text book or Self-study On-line Pre-licensing course with the intention of learning the material on your own to prepare to pass the SC State Insurance Exam, sometimes things do not work out as planned. If it turns out you are having trouble scheduling study time and would like to join the Live Classroom or Live Webinar just call us. We will enroll you in the appropriate class, but only charge you the difference in the price you have paid for the course you purchased and the current cost of the equivalent Live Classroom course at the time of conversion. This option does not apply to the Exam Tutor Stand-alone purchases.
Do you have any weekend or night classes?
We do not offer night or weekend classes.
What if I purchase a Self-study Textbook or Self-study On-line course and decide I need to go to the Live Classroom or Live Webinar?
We offer a "Conversion Privilege." If you purchase either of our Self-study options we protect your investment by allowing you to convert to a live class option. We will give you credit for the course you paid for towards the cost of a live class. If you need to convert to class please call our office and we will assist you with the process and answer any questions you may have.