Welcome to Continuing Ed. Boulevard

Renewing your Insurance License is now a five step process.

  1. Know what you need.
  2. Earn your required CE Credits.
  3. Pay your SC DOI License Renewal Fee.
  4. Get fingerprinted.
  5. Pay your CE Administrator Recordkeeping fee.

Click on the buildings in sequence, and follow the directions below to complete your path to becoming Continuing Education compliant.

Image Map
Brewer Insurance Information Service

DOI Continuing Ed. Requirements

South Carolina Department of Insurance requires that all licensed insurance agents obtain 24 hours of Continuing Education credit for each biennial period (two years) depending on whether you were born in an Odd or an Even numbered year. Your compliance deadline is the last day of that birth month based on the Odd or Even numbered year. For example, if you were born on May 5, 1971 your CE compliance deadline would be May 31, 2013. The 24 total hours must be subdivided as follows:

  • 8 hours for each licensed line (LA&H and/or P&C)
  • 3 hours must be in Ethics
  • The remainder of hours can come from any accredited Continuing Education Course category.

first step
Brewer Insurance Information Service

Get Your CE Course Transcript

Not sure how many hours you have left? Click here to obtain your transcript by logging in to your existing account. If you do not have an account you will be asked to create a new account with a Username and Password.

next step
Brewer Insurance Information Service

Schedule a CE Class

If you know what classes you want to take, click here to view all course listings.


Traditional Classroom

Online Courses

next step
Brewer Insurance Information Service

Pay License Renewal Fee

Your next step is to pay your SCDOI License Renewal Fee, which you can do online at the SCDOI website by clicking here.

next step
Brewer Insurance Information Service | Get Fingerprinted

Get fingerprinted with IdentoGO

Effective January 1, 2017, South Carolina law requires all resident producers or licensees holding a resident producer's license to submit fingerprints and background checks upon application for a new license or prior to the renewal of their current license. Fingerprints will be submitted directly to the Department by the vendor generally within 24 hours. Failure to comply with the fingerprinting requirement is a violation of the South Carolina insurance laws and could result in the denial of licensure. Additionally, violations of the South Carolina insurance law are subject to the penalties set forth in Code sections 38-43-100 and 38-2-10 of the South Carolina Code of Laws. Visit identogo.com to schedule an appointment for fingerprinting.

Fingerprinting does not have to be done every two years, it is a one-time requirement at this time AND everyone has to be fingerprinted again even if they have already been fingerprinted for CWP or any other reason.

Please be sure to write your insurance license number on your Identogo sales receipt and email the sales receipt to agentmail@doi.sc.gov or fax it to 803-737-6100.

For more information from the South Carolina Department of Insurance, visit www.doi.sc.gov/fingerprinting.

next step
Brewer Insurance Information Service

Pay Prometric Record-Keeping Fee

Your last step in the process is to pay the CE Administrator the biennial Recordkeeping Fee at Prometric site, which you can do by clicking here.