Frequently Asked Questions

The following questions are those we are asked most often. We want to update it as necessary to assist you by answering any question you may have regarding our school or the licensing processing, so please email us at info@BrewerInsuranceSchool.com or call us if you do not find the answer to your question.

 

  • What do I need to do to get an Insurance License?

    There are three steps to getting an Insurance License in South Carolina. Clicking here will walk you through the pre-licensing process.


  • Do I need to get a criminal background check and get fingerprinted to get an insurance license in South Carolina?

    Yes, Effective January 1, 2017, South Carolina law requires all resident producers or licensees holding a resident producer’s license to submit fingerprints and background checks upon application for a new license and prior to the renewal of their current license. Fingerprints will be submitted directly to the Department by the vendor generally within 24 hours after the licensee has been fingerprinted. Failure to submit fingerprints with the application or failure to comply with the fingerprinting requirement is a violation of the South Carolina insurance laws and could result in the denial of the application for license or the renewal of an application for a license. Additionally, violations of the South Carolina insurance law are subject to the penalties set forth in Code sections 38-43-100 and 38-2-10 of the South Carolina Code of Laws. Click here to schedule an appointment. Fingerprinting does not have to be done every two years, it is a one-time requirement at this time AND everyone has to be fingerprinted again even if they have already been fingerprinted for CWP or any other reason.


  • How much are the classes with your school?

    The cost of the four day Property and Casualty; and Life, Accident and Health classes is $345.00 and includes the text book and an on-line practice testing tool. The three day Adjuster Class is also $345.00 and includes the workbook and the on-line practice testing tool.


  • Are there any other costs?

    Yes, there is an examination fee ($45.00) payable to PSI, Criminal Background Check fee ($25.00) payable to SLED, and an Application Fee ($25-Producer/$80-Adjuster) payable to DOI.


  • Where do you hold classes?

    We offer classes in Charleston, Columbia, Greenville, and Myrtle Beach.


  • How often do you offer classes?

    We regularly offer the Life, Accident and Health Producer, Property and Casualty Producer, and Property and Casualty Claims Adjuster in Columbia on a routinely scheduled basis. We also offer Property and Casualty and Life, Accident and Health in each of our other classroom locations once a month. Please refer to our Class Schedules page.


  • Can you provide directions to the class locations?

    Please refer to the Locations page in the main menu for the specific location and map to assist in finding the classroom facility. We suggest you utilize Mapquest, Google Maps or Yahoo to get specific driving instructions to the class from your home or office.


  • What is the dress code for the class?

    The dress code is business casual. Please dress in layers since it is difficult to control the temperature in a classroom environment to meet everyone's satisfaction.


  • Is there anything I should bring to class?

    You should bring a pen or pencil, highlighter and a notebook.


  • Do you ever cancel classes?

    We don't cancel class unless it is absolutely necessary. We feel our students are taking this class to prepare themselves for their next career or upgrade their position in their current career. It is important for us to meet our commitment to them.


  • What if I miss class time?

    Any missed class time should be made up in the same time slot missed. As an example, if you miss time on Tuesday you need to make up the time on Tuesday. There is no requirement to be in class for a specified period of time, but we feel it is important for you to receive all of the education you paid for to prepare you to pass the state examination. We monitor class time to be able to provide a reporting of student time to managers who may request this information.


  • Would you offer classes for a group of associates at our office?

    We offer classes to companies, agencies or group classes on a contract basis. Please contact us via phone or our Contact web page to inquire about this option.


  • If I pay for an associate, and they do not attend, do I get a refund?

    We will refund the payment or transfer the payment to another student from your organization if the student does not attend the class. If the student begins class and drops out or withdraws, the payment is non-refundable.


  • When is payment due?

    Payment is due on the first day of class, but may be paid in advance.


  • What forms of payment do you accept?

    We accept MasterCard, American Express, Visa, (Debit and Credit cards), Cash, Company Checks, Bank Certified Checks, Money Orders or prearranged billing (businesses only). We are sorry, but we do not accept Personal Checks.


  • Do you offer discounts?

    Discounts are offered periodically and when available you can apply the discount during checkout.


  • Do you offer internet classes?

    Yes, we do have Internet Class Offerings at this time. Both Property and Casualty; and Life, Accident and Health Producer and Property, Casualty, Surety and Marine Adjuster courses are available via the internet. Click Here to purchase one of those options.


  • Are there any alternatives to taking the four day class?

    We also offer a Self Study program for Property and Casualty producer; Life, Accident and Health producer and Property, Casualty, Surety and Marine Adjuster. This program uses the same Text Book and on-line practice testing tool we use in the 4-day producer or 4-day adjuster class. The student is responsible for teaching themselves the material and when they pass the simulated exam provided in the package with a minimum grade of 70% the student should feel comfortable that they are ready to take the State Exam. Additionally, we offer the option of taking the courses via the Internet.


  • Is there any difference in the Live 'in classroom' instruction and the webinar?

    All of the instruction is the same. The chapter reviews are the same as well. The only difference is you will not have access to our paper "test booklets" that are only available to those students in the classroom because of the concerns of protecting our intellectual capital, but you have a much more robust tool to practice test with by using the Exam Tutor.


  • What is the Unique Conversion Option?

    If you have purchased our Correspondence Text book or On-line Pre-licensing course with the intention of learning the material on your own to prepare to pass the state insurance exam, sometimes things do not work out as planned. If it turns out you are having trouble scheduling study time and would like to join the live classroom just call us. We will enroll you in the appropriate class, but only charge you the difference in the price you have paid for the Correspondence Text book or On-line Pre-licensing course and the current cost of the classroom at the time of conversion. This option does not apply to the Exam Tutor Stand-alone purchase.


  • Do you have any weekend or night classes?

    We do not offer night or weekend classes.


  • Do you have any recommendations for Hotel accommodations?

    We are often asked this question. There are several hotels close (within 5 miles) to our classroom locations. Please visit the Locations page for the city you are taking your class in and you will find hotels for which we have discounted rates.